Search

About S&S Founder and Teacher, Ashley Wynne


Ashley is an Anishinaabe woman with a passion for learning her Indigenous language and culture and sharing it with others. She is an Early Childhood Educator and a Recreation and Leisure Services professional who has worked with children in licensed childcare settings for over 15 years. Her largest motivating factor for founding her culture-based private school, Sage and Sunshine, is being an Indigenous mother to four children. She is always looking for ways to connect her children to their culture and support their learning.

Ashley took on the enormous task of homeschooling three of her children throughout the pandemic. She has been successful in bringing not only Ojibwe language, but also many other cultural practices into daily education routine. Ashley ensures her children have kept up with the Ontario curriculum which is important to the families’ of her students.

Ashley is an avid and ongoing learner herself. She’s taken the opportunity to strengthen and update her communication and computer skills. She has taken two business courses - an Introductions to 'Small Business Strategies' course, and a 'Finance, Administration, Revenue' course. She has also taken college courses in Child Development, Guidance, and Health. Ashley has an up-to-date Standard First Aid and CPR Training Certificate and a current Criminal Record Check with vulnerable Sector Check.


Ashley puts time and energy into learning about her culture and inclusion, to create a safe and effective learning environment for her students.


Ashley hopes to expand her culture-based teachings to all. And eventually open schools in other parts of Ontario so that any Indigenous family who wants to maintain their cultural practices, language and traditions will have the chance to do so.


Thank you for being here,

Ashley Wynne

Aaniin, Ashley n'dizhnikaas, Miskwedesi Dodem niinda'aw, Nogojiwanong n'doonjibaa.

I see your light, I am called Ashley, I belong to Turtle Clan, and my community is Peterborough.



3 views0 comments